1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Does size matter? Scale length discussion

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Cedarburger, Mar 26, 2021.

1. Cedarburger

Cedarburger Tele-Meister

Ok, so was messing around with a lot of things lately...I'm kinda all over the place. Been on an amp search, messing around with my guitars, trying to figure out stuff. Tonight I was playing a few guitars back to back. I was messing with my amps, and wanted to try single coils vs hbs. I messed with my Fender Nashville tele, and a couple LPs (Ibanez ART 300, Epi LP Plustop Pro). I thought I loved the Ibanez, but tonight I freaking hated it. It was so uncomfortable to play. The Epi was much better, but I really felt most comfortable with the Fender. Now... understand that I am a beginner...a 57 year old beginner.

It seems to be a popularly held belief that a shorter scale is easier to play. Is that true? Could it be possible that ergonomically a longer scale could be more comfortable and easier FOR SOME to play? (Even beginners)

Thanks all.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2021
    JL_LI, Boreas, Festofish and 4 others like this.
  2. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Friend of Leo's

Only you can decide what is most comfortable. Length of neck which is also very much a product of the shape of the body which affects reach. Shape of the neck. That’s my first criteria. If the neck feels good in my hand I can accept or modify anything else. Just me? The guitar that fits your hands is the one that is best for you. My opinion. I have long arms and pretty big hands and I struggle on really thin necks. Find what you like by playing as many types as you can. Spend a few hours at the shop, try your friend’s guitar.

3. Dan German

Dan German Doctor of Teleocity