Does anyone know the Squier output jack STOCK wire gauge?

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by tom and frayed, Aug 20, 2019.

  1. tom and frayed

    tom and frayed TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Location:
    usa
    Can anyone tell me the Stock wire gauge that Squier uses on the 2 wires that are soldered to the output jack? I've asked this question in like 10 different Squire threads and either get ignored or they just say "I use 22 gauge" or "You should use 22 gauge".

    I gave Fender a call and guess what the guy said? "I use 22" :rolleyes:.....(and finally) "I don't know, It's either 22, 24 or 26 gauge.":lol:

    I just need to know the stock AWG of various Squiers and not wire gauge philosophies.:D

    Thanks
     
  2. BelairPlayer

    BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,167
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Ca
    I doubt there is an “official” awg. My guess would be 22 or thereabouts. It not being particularly critical, I can imagine going with whatever purchasing can get the best deal on in any given month.
     
  3. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    22
     
  4. JSMac

    JSMac TDPRI Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    Can you explain why you think you need the exact stock gauge? It's really not that important in that application. I'd use 22 AWG, or anything close that I have in my parts drawer.
     
  5. bgmacaw

    bgmacaw Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,456
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Near Athens GA USA
    I'm guess whatever is on the spool in the factory that day.

    Here's what the inside of my 2005 Squier Standard Strat looked like (stock wiring, after being used as a litterbox by the former owner's cat). Maybe that will help.

    20160529_214523.jpg
     
  6. 24 track

    24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    13,677
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    kamloops bc
    I would say 22 gauge as well,
    I replaced mine with Gibson pull back open shield in my affinity tele ( I hate cheap wiring and lousy electronics, so I replaced all of mine with CTS pots, Fender 3 way Knife switch, Orange drop cap and much Higher grade wire I did leave the pickups alone they sounded fantastic IMHO
     
  7. warrent

    warrent Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,788
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
  8. JSMac

    JSMac TDPRI Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado
    While we're on the subject, how would you use a that tool to measure the actual awg of stranded wire? The measurement would need to be made with the insulation stripped off, right? I can see measuring solid wire but with stranded wouldn't it be the sum of each individual strand? Never thought of this before, but, I digress.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  9. BorderRadio

    BorderRadio Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    8,039
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Use 2 gauge. No capacitance :D
     
    JSMac likes this.
  10. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    From this day forward, I will never again buy a used guitar.
     
    Skydog1010 likes this.
  11. Blrfl

    Blrfl Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    It's cross-sectional area, which makes stranded wire marginally larger than the same gauge of solid. There's probably enough slop in the gauge to handle either.
     
  12. Skydog1010

    Skydog1010 Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    742
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Location:
    North Carolina
    22, I often use 20. I have seen used pawn shop upgrades using twistie wrap wire as extenders. LOL :eek:
     
  13. jvin248

    jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,587
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    Get an old RCA type patch cable used for VCRs etc as that is shielded cable and run it from the volume pot to the jack. You need to shield that run, otherwise why use shielded cable from the guitar to the amp. No, twisting the pair of wires does not help. Open up an Epiphone Special and you'll see shielded cable.

    .
     
    JK202 likes this.
  14. bgmacaw

    bgmacaw Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,456
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Near Athens GA USA
    Not even for $27?
     
  15. warrent

    warrent Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,788
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    EkZky.png
     
    JK202 likes this.
  16. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    That's all he paid you? I'd have demanded more. :)
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.