Do You Use Your Strat Trem?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Agave_Blue, Dec 4, 2011.

Do You Use Your Strat Trem?

  1. Yes

    115 vote(s)
    51.8%
  2. No

    107 vote(s)
    48.2%
  1. Agave_Blue

    Agave_Blue Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  2. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    There are things that make the Strat stand alone, things that no other guitar can deliver. The wiggle stick is one of those things.

    Here's everything a Strat can do:
     
  3. jmiles

    jmiles Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,632
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    ohio
    Yes. The bar is bent, and I play it with my wrist. Lowers only, as the plate is tight to the body.I play fingerstyle.
    Playing position pic;
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jefrs

    jefrs Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,310
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Newbury, England
    Floating, cut short and bent, 4-springs.

    Wilkinson "vintage" big-block type, modified par moi to float perfectly and never de-tune the strings. Works too.

    If you want a hard-tail, get a tele.
     
  5. jefrs

    jefrs Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,310
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Newbury, England
    You're being silly. You know perfectly well that a strat can't do half of that.
     
  6. NWinther

    NWinther Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark Solbjerg.
    Get a Tele if you want that nowhere to go tail;)
    Always use my vibratos, always have for the last 25+ years....
    And they always float too...
    Being an old rat with those, they also keep in tune pretty well.
     
  7. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    [​IMG]

    I need it on a Tele too!:lol:
     
  8. telefunken

    telefunken Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,859
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    North Hollywood
    Funny. All my older guitars have a trem, but every one that I bought in the last 10 years have none. I never never use it.
     
  9. thelowerlip

    thelowerlip Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    1,310
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes I do. I love those things.
     
  10. GeetarPlayer

    GeetarPlayer Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Location:
    SE PA
    No. But I'm going to start now.
     
  11. Jethro

    Jethro Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Been playing for 30+ years and quite honestly only started using my trem bar about two years ago after I set it up to float properly....don't know why I waited so long, but it's actually helped me rediscover my strats potential
     
  12. StoogeSurfer

    StoogeSurfer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    Whammy is the 15th club in the bag. Must have whammy. Like Jethro says, don't lock it down either.
     
  13. Jethro

    Jethro Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Oh, and BTW....That was frikkin' awesome!!! JB never ceases to boggle my mind :eek:
     
  14. brookdalebill

    brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    64,001
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I don't use my strat much, so I don't use the trem much.
    I am glad it is there to use.
    I have it set for down only.
    Can't keep it in tune at all if it floats.
     
  15. chrom-freak

    chrom-freak Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    nothing like slight gilmore vibratos on a floating strat trem. just don't have a use for it if it's tight onto the body and doesn't allow a slight shimmer.
     
  16. DMace

    DMace Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,830
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    If I didn't use the Strat trem I'd be playing a Tele exclusively. That's the beauty of a Strat: the ability to warble and dive. That, and the 'quack'.
     
  17. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,163
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    I mean, how can you play "Wicked Game" without one?!?!?!

    For me, it's set flush, down only, with 4 springs pulled tight, I like the fight that it gives me, and with the springs tight, I get that classic reverb sound, which for me is part of the Strat's charm... but I can understand a hardtail, nice woody tone on a good one...

    Franc Robert
     
  18. middy

    middy Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    2,829
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Why else would I have a strat?
     
  19. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    Meh. I had to play that every night when I played with Wilsey. Never again.[​IMG]
     
  20. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,163
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Sounds like your Mustang Sally... :lol:

    It is a good example though, of what a Strat should be all about...

    Franc Robert
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.