1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Do you own any Boss pedals?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Richie Cunningham, Feb 16, 2021.

Do you own any Boss pedals?

  1. None.

  2. I have one.

  3. Two.

  4. Three.

  5. Four.

  6. Five.

  7. More than five.

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. scooteraz

    scooteraz Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,562
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I have a bunch, and several that are Keeley Mods, and a couple that I modded as well. The two most unusual that I have are the RT-20 and the PW-10 V-wah.

    Every so I pull one or another out and put on the board for a while. They do what Boss says they are supposed to, but in almost every case, I found a different pedal I like better. Very workmanlike.

    I’m getting mixed messages here....LOL
     
    Tele-beeb likes this.
  2. StuartJames

    StuartJames Tele-Meister

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    An old MIJ dd3
    CE2
    RV6
    Tera Echo
    Dd200

    I’d love MO2 and BD2
     
  3. Axegrinder77

    Axegrinder77 Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    1,600
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Location:
    Springtown
    Completely transparent? Then doesn't that defeat the purpose? Buffers are anything but transparent.
     
  4. MAXXFIELD

    MAXXFIELD Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Location:
    Seattle
    Me80. Love it.
     
  5. middy

    middy Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    3,156
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Location:
    MSP
    He used it to push a JCM 800. Is that how you used yours?
     
    bicaster and MilwMark like this.
  6. middy

    middy Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    3,156
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Location:
    MSP
    What do you think the purpose of a buffer is?
     
    MilwMark likes this.
  7. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    1,410
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    A good buffer shouldn’t color the tone, it should prevent degradation of the tone from capacitance. In other words, if I plugged directly into my amp I should get the same tone as if I were plugged into my pedalboard with all the pedals bypassed. That’s what a proper buffer at the front of the chain will do.
     
    bicaster likes this.
  8. Axegrinder77

    Axegrinder77 Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    1,600
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Location:
    Springtown
    Right, and in the context of actual use, you aren't comparing it to going straight into the amp, but rather a bunch of cable and its resulting capacitance.

    The buffer reduces the load on your pickups, and brings back the lost highs from that capacitance.

    In other words, it alters your tone. So no, not transparent. That isn't the aim. The aim is to restore higher frequencies. You will often alter some other frequencies, however.

    Not really interested in a big debate, but in my and many other people's experiences, the result of buffering is sometimes less than optimal.

    I don't generally like what boss buffers do to my tone. It gets a bit shrill. The Waza craft sound better to me though, which makes sense because they are said to be higher quality. But I'm not sure it's just the quality of the buffer, but that I prefer a little bit of that loading down.

    This is why on my Empress buffer plus, I have the trim pot rolled back a little, to reduce the input impedance from the standard 1m down to approx half that. Just sounds warmer and better to me, with my single coil pickups.

    YMMV
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
    Oxidao likes this.
  9. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,522
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    Isn’t the Japanese SD1 exactly the same as a modern one? Unlike some other Boss pedals (the DS1 or DD2) where different components were used?
     
    middy likes this.
  10. Axegrinder77

    Axegrinder77 Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    1,600
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Location:
    Springtown
    There is a Waza version, so that would lead me to think the Japanese was different. Could be wrong though.
     
  11. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,544
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    I have owned a bunch of Boss pedals over the years and there are a few that I wish I had kept , the only one I have kept for a long time is a Boss DD2 delay which sounds great.
     
  12. jayroc1

    jayroc1 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    vancouver
    IC chip and diodes are different than tawain version
     
  13. Martinp

    Martinp Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,290
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Westbury, N.Y.
    I have an rv-3 a tu-2 a cs3, and OD-2
    They all work and are awesomely reliable
     
    RetroTeleRod and Oxidao like this.
  14. 4pickupguy

    4pickupguy Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,315
    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    BD-2, DC-2w and SD-1. I havent played through the SD-1 I bought a year ago yet, but looking forward to the reunion. Its been about 34 years.... BD-2 is a GREAT pedal on my rig. There simply isn’t another “chorus” like the DC-2w made by anyone. Put it on delay trails in a wet/dry/wet rig and its YUGE without sounding all processed.
     
  15. gimmeatele

    gimmeatele Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    1,255
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Location:
    Alora Spain
    Just the looper
     
  16. wildschwein

    wildschwein Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,735
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Lots. I also have the Boss GT-3 and GT-5 but didn't count those.
     
  17. Oxidao

    Oxidao Tele-Meister

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    PNA, Spain
    Yep, first ones.
    CS3 DD9 and OD3
    And some nice other brands.

    Completely messed up yet.
    Still chasing for the Tone as i had just started really ‘playing’.

    I also do have a Noise gate. Switched on just twice.

    RC-30 counts?
     
  18. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,522
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
  19. jvin248

    jvin248 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,405
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    I stack a pair of DS-1s, because I got them in guitar trades, like most may stack a DS-1 and a TS. The pair at low gain together sound better than a single pedal at high gain.

    Then I have others around, Waza mod on a MT-2 that is a good mod, and a couple of stock MT-2s and some others that came with guitar trades too.

    .
     
    Oxidao likes this.
  20. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    1,410
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    really interested in a big
    [/
    Seems like we are saying the same thing. A crap ton of wire alters your tone, a buffer prevents it from doing so...preserving your original tone...un-colored. A poor buffer alters the tone, maybe overcompensates. A good buffer would do its job in a more transparent way.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.