Do they make wider neck electric guitars?

Legba-1967

TDPRI Member
Does anyone know if there is a wider than standard neck guitar for people with large hands? I have a Player Plus Nashville Tele that I love but I having an issue playing chords, actually a certain song that I used to play perfectly. A little about me I started playing in high school and got pretty good at songs I learned from books. I quit playing seriously for a few years and just started back getting serious about playing. The specific song I’m trying to play is Simple Man by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Like I said I used to be able to play this song perfectly when I was younger and still can pick it fine its just my hands seem to big to make the chords correctly on this guitar. They are pretty large. No matter how I try to position my hands my fingers always touch the adjoining strings. The only thing I can think of is getting a guitar with a wider neck for these chords up near the nut. This guitar does have a 12” radius fingerboard which I’m not used to so I don’t know if that could be an issue but I really feel like I just need a guitar with a wider neck. The Nashville isn’t going anywhere as I love everything else about it except up around the nut. I know on a classical guitar my hands feel right at home but I know I’m not gonna find an electric with that wide of a fretboard but just a bit wider than the Nashville would do I think.

edvard

Friend of Leo's
Warmoth makes up to 2" necks, and some guy named Big Lou does 2-1/8" necks.
The difference is in the money; Warmoth will build you a custom neck to your specs, but starting at just under $200. Big Lou makes a variety of neck styles rather randomly, so call or email for a list of what he has in stock. He may or may not have exactly what you want, but he only charges $100.

P.S. If you're looking for budget options, consider getting a cheap 7-string neck from Amazon or eBay, and cutting a nut for 6.

Last edited:

Legba-1967

TDPRI Member