1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Do pickups lose quality over time?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by dscottyg, Apr 14, 2021.

1. dscottyg

dscottyg Tele-Meister

A89B2D0A-4269-4D62-94B1-89C940DAF77F.jpeg E35DE40A-A3C3-4DBB-9EF2-E8B61EA57429.jpeg I just got a set of used Custom Shop Texas Special Telecaster pickups for $130 to restore a 2001 American Designer Edition Silver Sparkle. They look pretty old. Should I have spent the extra $60 for brand new? I know the typical responses will be “Try them and see if you like them.” Unfortunately I don’t have a discerning ear, but it will feel better knowing that they are sounding as good as new ones would. Thanks.

Arfage likes this.
  2. Tele-friend

Tele-friend Tele-Meister

I am not an expert on old pickups but as far as I have heard in an interwiew with Mr. Seth Lover (or maybe a documentary about him) their magnetic properties change over time. They become little 'weaker' to simplify it and this is something that many people actually like. So if for example you want to recreate an older pickup, you can use less windings. At least this is my understanding about the topic.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2021
  3. northernguitar

northernguitar Friend of Leo's

I have an early 70s Pat No. Gibson T-Top. Sounds like it did when I first played on it, 25 years ago.

stepvan, dodona, igor5 and 3 others like this.
  4. aadvark

aadvark Tele-Meister

mine are 69 years old, still sound amazing...

but to specifically answer your question, maybe if they lose a little signal (not necessarily a bad thing - I love low output pickups - because I can drive the amp/valves harder) it will take a long time, I can't see that there'll be any noticeable difference in yours.

Clean them up, put them in and "see if you like them"!

5. bgmacaw