Do I need electric AND acoustic guitars to teach?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Placid Blue, Oct 5, 2019.

1. Placid Blue

Placid Blue TDPRI Member

I want to start teaching guitar, but I wanted to get an opinion on the guitars I will need.

I already have an electric guitar, but would I also need to have an acoustic guitar to teach students with? Or do you think students would be happy to learn acoustic guitar with me using an electric guitar?

The reason I ask is that I am kind of a minimalist when it comes to owning things, and I have no reason to get an acoustic guitar other than for teaching purposes.

57fenderstrat likes this.
  2. Alter

Alter Tele-Meister

Probably would only work for kids that are absolute beginners. Would you go to study acoustic guitar with a teacher that doesn't play one?

stinkey, howardlo, Mike SS and 3 others like this.
  3. 57fenderstrat

57fenderstrat Tele-Meister

I don’t think it will matter much what you are playing. I took lessons with my first guitar teacher for six years or so and 90% of the time I played electric and he played an acoustic. I don’t think it will matter if your just working with beginners and are teaching stuff like chord shapes, theory, and tunes from like Hal Leonard books and such.

In college I was taking lessons with a classical guitarist so playing etudes and duets like that would ideally call for two nylons.

4. 57fenderstrat