Dns Registrar Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by src9000, Mar 25, 2016.

1. src9000

src9000 Poster Extraordinaire

I have a friend with a small business who is planning to put up a website. She isn't ready for that yet, but wants to reserve her name. Any Recommendations?

I suggested Namecheap.com or Network Solutions after a little research, but I can't vouch for any service since I've no experience with them.

Thanks,

2. src9000

Anybody?

3. uriah1

uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

4. Chud

Chud Poster Extraordinaire

I always used GoDaddy because of the commercials...:D

5. imwjl

imwjl Poster Extraordinaire

I'm partial to the top tier firms such as Verisign, Network Solutions and later GoDaddy with bias that comes from once being an ISP sysop, and the days when they hosted the root DNS servers. I'm quite sure Verisign still does.

When I advise people I notice they get good customer service from those leaders. One US company that has good service and live chat with responsive humans is Catalog.com aka WebHero. They were an early player hosting commerce site, are still in us (OK???).

If you forget my bias that comes from years at this, it's still true that it appears to be a you get what you pay for.

Another great and stable solution for a small business is just get an Office 365 package that does all you might want. I see more and more use the SharePoint online part for their web presence but that still might not be same as a basic small business web site.

6. src9000

We've looked at wix. They are not a certified registrar.
    And while wix allows you to make beautiful web sites, including mobile sites, it has limits that she wasn't ready to think about.

One of her fears is losing her name if she decides to move to another host.

7. uriah1

uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

Glad you researching ..

8. src9000

I'm in the same boat. Though, I did forget about Verisign. I'll also look at O365.