DIY Rangemasters - Opinions?

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by peterbilt1101, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. peterbilt1101

    peterbilt1101 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Looking into doing my first pedal build...because I can! So, I'm thinking I'll start small and do something to get my confidence up, but I also want something I'll enjoy using too. Therefore, I'm kinda digging on the Rangemaster Booster clones. Here are my questions:

    1. There are a buzillion DIY Rangemaster kits...BYOC, GGG, Fiendmaster, etc. Which is your favorite and why?

    2. Does it work well with different flavors of amps (Fender, Vox) or just Marshall? And how about humbuckers vs. single coils? Maybe the traditional circuit with an added tone knob like the Java Boost or a toggle like Diaz's Texas Ranger is what I need for that? Do any kits cover that?

    3. This may be getting too advanced for a first DIY project, but I would love to have the ultimate British blues pedal with a Marshall Bluesbreaker or 18W (maybe a slight tweedish / JTM45 lean too) amp OD in a box in channel 1 with a Dallas Rangemaster boost in channel 2. Does that exist?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Crawfish

    Crawfish Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Any of the kits would be fine. It depends on your skills. If you aren't comfortable with drilling the box, etc, get one with that work done. Otherwise, it's such a simple circuit that it's easy to just get the parts and build one from scratch.

    I'd suggest you read this, it's a great article and explains everything about the Rangemaster:

    http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/rangemaster/atboost.pdf

    I built mine on a terminal strip. Original Rangemasters use a .05 input cap. The article explains what frequencies it boosts. I put a rotary switch in mine to select different values from .002 up to .15. You can pretty much select what you want to suit your ears.

    Build something simple first, then worry about a more complex pedal later.

    -Kevin
     
  3. peterbilt1101

    peterbilt1101 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Thanks Crawfish. Lots to digest here. I may just have to build a straight up kit for now and go from there. I like the rotary switch idea a lot! Maybe just the ticket for different amp and guitar combos. By the way, is there any truth behind the notion that the OC44 is the holy grail of transistors? Looks like that wouldn't work with an NPN setup that would be compatible with other pedals.
     
  4. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    Here's a layout for a Rangemaster. The only thing I see that's different is the pulldown resistors and a 5k trimmer for the bias.

    [​IMG]


    I like the idea of switchable input caps, as what works for buckers doesn't necessarily work for single coils.
     
  5. Matty D

    Matty D TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    the Midlands, SC
    Small correction to make, I believe-

    Original Rangemasters use a .005 input cap
     
  6. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    Yeah, but .0047's are everywhere. That's splitting hairs.
     
  7. stax

    stax Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Brentwood U.K.
    I think he was referring to the Crawfish post.
     
  8. fezz parka

    fezz parka ---------------------------

    Posts:
    13,841
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    Del Floria's Tailor Shop
    Doh!
     
  9. diablomendez

    diablomendez TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    Hello everyone!

    I used a 0.005uf input cap in my Rangemaster and it sounds great!

    Despite of there are several websiyes where you can buy Rangemaster kits, I decided to build mine on my own.

    Here you can find a couple of pics


    image-1818739106.jpg



    image-3143657497.jpg
     
  10. poiureza

    poiureza Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    989
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    Very nice built Diablo.
    Where did you get the OC44 from ?
     
  11. diablomendez

    diablomendez TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
  12. poiureza

    poiureza Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    989
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thank you for the link, I didn't even know that shop.

    Did you measure the transistor for HFE and leakage ?
     
  13. peterbilt1101

    peterbilt1101 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
  14. poiureza

    poiureza Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    989
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks, I asked because I'm looking for a supplier this side of the pond.

    Mojo is in the soldering iron :D

    No idea, they're different makes but IMO they should be quite similar provided HFE and leakage are similar
     
  15. limbe

    limbe Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,453
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm,Sweden
    As long as you don´t connect it to a wall wart with other pedals that have negative ground you´re okay.If the wall wart have several outputs that are isolated from each other you are also OK.
     
  16. peterbilt1101

    peterbilt1101 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    To me, that means a VS 1 Spot connector daisy chain won't work. Could always just go with the ole 9V battery I suppose...
     
  17. Crawfish

    Crawfish Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Yes, thanks for the correction! It's .005 on the originals. That's one value I have on my switch.
     
  18. peterbilt1101

    peterbilt1101 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Question on the rotary switch deal. Found one on small bear here.

    http://www.smallbearelec.com/servlet/Detail?no=581

    I understand where it fits in the schematic just fine. Instead of C1, wire up to the switch, then wire back to the PCB. But how is the switch itself and the different caps wired up?
     
  19. Jefe

    Jefe Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
  20. diablomendez

    diablomendez TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    I built it following the GeoFex article. Although I used a couple of trimers (5k and 100k) to set up the effect, finally I decided to use the original values (3.9k and 68k) because the collector's measure was near 7v, as GeoFex recommended.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.