Diy Germanium/Silicone Distortion Pedal need help

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by IITTII, May 22, 2019.

1. IITTII

IITTII TDPRI Member

Few months ago i just finished my diy wah wah pedal and i was thinking what to do next so i decided to make a distortion. Btw this is my first distortion including clipping diodes and a op amp so im not an exper.
    I looked a lot of different schematics of other peoples distortion pedals so i started drawing my own. I wanted it to be simple and made from parts i had laying around nothing too big. This is what i come up with.
    20190522_204639.jpg
    Anyway after sorting and testing all the parts i began building it (without knowing how it will sound). This is the end result.
    20190512_150321.jpg 20190512_150330.jpg 20190512_150354.jpg 20190515_122351.jpg 20190515_125846.jpg
    And so after pluging it in for the first time it powerd up perfectly with no "smoke coming out". Succsess i tought i have a distortion/overdrive pedal with an ability to switch between germanium/none/led diode clipping. Sounded too good to be true. Actualy on my sitty amp that sounds bassy without pedals it sound like a very heavy distortion. But when i got it to my friend that haves a Fender Twin Reverb it was tooo Harsh, very bright. It was missing a lot of low end and mid range and the Controls were very sensitive like if you bring it just a hair up its Loud as F... i think the way to fix that is to put a 500K or a 1M pots insted of 100K that is now in there. Now my question is what can i add, remove, modify to make it sound a bit more low end with prounounced mids. When i was building it i was aiming for something like Mxr distortion+ sound i know its a single stage drive and my is two stages. Anyway guys if you could "steer me" in the right direction it would be awesome id really appreciate that. Sorry for the bad english.

2. galaxiex

galaxiex Tele-Holic Silver Supporter