DIY Amp Making & PCB's

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by kleydejong, Jan 26, 2020.

1. kleydejong

kleydejong Tele-Holic

Context

I've been doing a deep dive into pedals for the past several months. One interesting observation I see is the dominant prevalence of PCB's as the construction method. It makes sense. Lots of advantages. More efficient use of space. Easy to work with in a paint by numbers approach. PCB mounted pots are super nice to hold the board securely.

But it isn't just that PCB's are commonly used in pedals - but I'm shocked at how vast the library is. There are a handful of different vendors selling PCB's for just about any pedal you may have or haven't heard of. They sell the PCB and you source the other parts.

Next enlightenment is that one can readily download software to draw schematics and then transfer that into creating a Board layout. The software will perform some design checks to ensure the board is within construction tolerances at a real life factory. Then you can send that file to a variety of factories in China that will make you a PCB and mail it to you. For like $20 for a set of 5.

So I'll get to my question - why aren't PCB's used in the DIY amp making world hardly at all? Almost all builds I see are Eyelets or Turrets just like Leo and Jim used to do it. Some PTP-ish work from time to time.

You see PCB's commonly used in amps made at scale in factories. But I would also state that there are a number of higher end builders that use PCB's in their amps. So I don't think you can argue that a PCB can't make a good amp.

The Argument Against