Diode rectifier: How to Lower the B+?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Jewellworks, Mar 26, 2020.

1. Jewellworks

Jewellworks TDPRI Member

im a newbie when it comes to tube amps. i repaired my Vibrochamp some years ago, but that was the first and only time ive been inside an amp. now im building a 5F1 / 5F2-A. i got the chassis and most of the parts fairly cheap at a guitar show, and although the amp "worked" it sounded terrible. i never intended to keep the amp the way it was, and wanted it to be a project for me to experiment with. so i gutted it, and took it all the way down to basic components.

the original amp had a 5Y3 tube rectifier, but somewhere along the line, the power transformer was replaced, and the TX doesnt have a 5v tap to run a tube rectifier, so im forced to use a diode bridge rectifier, -which is what it had in it when i bought it.

that said, the diodes were way out of spec and leaking a ton of AC through, so i replaced them with new 1N4007 diodes.

when i hooked it all up and was ready to test it, i put tubes in it, and a speaker and didnt hear anything. but i did hear a POP through the speaker. when i turned it off and checked it, i got NO ohm reading through the primary of the output transformer. (the B+ comes straight off the diodes/1st filter cap, and passes through the primary of the output coil to the plate of the 6V6.) Somehow, the coil opened on the output transformer? i checked my schematic and my wiring several times to make sure i didnt do something wrong, and it looks good.

i got a new output transformer (rated for a 5watt tube amp) and the ohm reading across the primary is just over 500 ohms. so that verifies my old output TX is bad.