Dilemma With Partscaster Project

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by jrintheemaking, Dec 14, 2019.

1. jrintheemaking

jrintheemaking TDPRI Member

Hi everyone. I’ve been playing for many years but no very little about the actual mechanics of electric guitars (changing out pickups, adjusting truss rod, etc.)

I would like to learn these basic skills. I want to either buy a budget guitar (around $750) to practice on or build one myself (to learn these skills). First question would be: what is the best path to go down- build myself or buy? What would be most advantageous?

I am interested in building or buying a 3 pickup guitar. Either Nashville tele or Strat.
    I already have an American standard tele and love the bridge pickup. The middle position I don’t use because I don’t like the sound. The neck pup I like. On the Strat side, I find the bridge very harsh, but I like the neck and middle pup. I want something different than my tele, should I go Nashville Tele or Strat and why? Or if you can recommend another configuration or guitar build I am open to that too. I would just like 3 pups. Thanks a bunch!

Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
    Torren61 and nojazzhere like this.
  2. ladave

ladave Tele-Holic

I have learned a lot by building a bass, Tele and strat partscaster, but mine were not what I would call budget guitars. I have about $900 into each one.

Personally I’m not sure how much I would enjoy working on a cheap guitar.

So I would still recommend building your own. It can of course be done for much less than I have spent.

jrintheemaking likes this.
  3. dunehunter

dunehunter Tele-Holic Double Platinum Supporter

Haven't looked recently, but I think that StewMac has good deals on build-it-yourself electric guitar kits. My guess is, you'd get a pretty good (not great) guitar in the end. Food for thought.

4. jrintheemaking