Did Any blackguard Teles use this cap?

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by JamesVRoy, Mar 29, 2020.

1. JamesVRoy

JamesVRoy Tele-Holic

20200329_114401.jpg Have a cap from a '53 Fender, appears to be a .05 MF but hard to read through the wax. Did these come in any of the blackguard era? Its from a lap steel I believe.
    20200329_114429.jpg

2. Crashbelt

Crashbelt Tele-Holic

I'm no expert, but P383 of Nacho's Blackguard book shows clear pictures of the 4 different types used in the blackguard era. They look similar to yours but none looks like a match, although the lettering is very blurred in your picture.

I checked the cap in my late 53 avatar Tele which corresponds exactly to Nacho's type 3 as it should.

I'm sure others who really know this stuff will be more enlightening, but hope this is a useful starter.

JamesVRoy likes this.
  3. JamesVRoy

JamesVRoy Tele-Holic

Yeah, its blurry in real life too. The wax makes it hard to read. I don't have that book, can you post a pic of the page at some point. Thanks

4. Adam Wolfaardt

Adam Wolfaardt Tele-Meister

If you wipe the cap with some wd40 it will clear it up somewhat. Maybe do that and then take new pics?

5. Crashbelt

Crashbelt Tele-Holic

Here's a photo of the relevant bit of Nacho's book, together with the cap from my late 53. (Yes I know about the non-original but close to period-correct pot, before a sharp eyed vintage Tele expert tells me!!)

20200330_165940.jpg

Apologies to Nacho for this, but I know he is always keen to spread the word about these arcane details. By the way The Blackguard Book is the greatest ever work of scholarship and enthusiasm about a model of vintage guitar imho.

Antoon and JamesVRoy like this.
  6. aadvark

aadvark Tele-Meister

the one from the OP looks a bit different to mine.
    Mine is like type 2 in the Nacho photo.

IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!