Dewalt DW735 13" Planer

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by jkingma, Aug 27, 2019.

1. jkingma

jkingma Super Moderator Staff Member

Admin Post
    Does anyone have one of these? I'm looking for a small planer for the cottage shop and see a used one of these for sale locally at a decent price. I have no experience with benchtop planers. I've only ever used 16" and larger. But this would be perfect for me if it's any good.

Stock photo. 71-bj9tP+6L._SL1500_.jpg

2. Boubou

Boubou Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

Have one, love it even though I haven’t used it in a while. One of the best if not the best in its class for not causing snipe

6stringcowboy, KG7IL and jkingma like this.
  3. RogerC

RogerC Poster Extraordinaire

I don't currently have one, but I've been on the look-out. As Boubou said, they're probably best-in-class for portable planers. Much better design than any of the other lunchbox style.

jkingma likes this.
  4. LeftFinger

LeftFinger Friend of Leo's

I have the 13" King Commercial with the Segmented blades I love the performance.
    The 13" Dewalt was my second choice since its cutters can be upgraded

5. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Silver Supporter

I have it. The rubber rollers don't like to be cold and you'll end up pushing the wood if they are. Knives don't stay sharp that long but are easily reversible. The replacement knives are pricy though. You still get a bit of snipe but not as horrendous as some lunchbox planers. It does have a slower feed which is nice and the built in blower helps get rid of chips outside if you have a place to blow them. I probably wouldn't buy it again, but would aim for a heavier duty stationary one. I bought a Delta 13 for the basement last winter because of the cold issue. The Delta weighs less for an old man with a messed up back lifting by himself.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2019
  6. jkingma

Admin Post