1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Deluxe Reverb Bias Question

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by 724SP, Feb 3, 2014.

1. 724SP

724SP Tele-Meister

I have a hand-built (point-to-point) wired Deluxe Reverb AB763 circuit amp that is about 8 years old. Over the weekend, I decided to try a different set of 6v6 power tubes. When I plugged in my Bias-Rite meter to check voltages and currents (with the new tubes) I was very surprised at how hot this amp was running:
    Plate Voltage: 425v
    Bias current: 35ma
    Power: about 14.9 watts

I know the 6v6 MPD is rated about 14 Watts, and in my tweed amps, I normally bias at around 70% of that (at least as a starting point, then use my ears). The thing is, I've been running this amp for the last 8 years like this. Values are about the same with the original NOS Brimars that were in it.

So, I figured I'd lower the bias a bit and see how it sounded. Unfortunately, I found the bias pot was already set as low as it would go. What should I do? Amp sounds great...just wasn't expecting those numbers! My guess is that I should take it in and let a tech look into the bias circuit. Am I missing something here ? Anyone experienced this before? Sorry for the lengthy post, I just don't have much experience with BF amps...appreciate it!

2. andyfromdenver

andyfromdenver Friend of Leo's

What's the power transformer?
    What rectifier you using?
    What are the heater readings?

Maybe the PT has an optional voltage? Maybe you can sub in a lower voltage drop rectifier? Maybe JJ 6v6s will be just fine?

You can go in maybe 3-5k increments on the fine tune resistor off the bias pot to ground. Up or down not sure (probably up to 15k maybe) :) til you can roughly center the pot at a good bias voltage.

This is my Season of Maybes...

3. Telenut62