Daughter's First Guitar! (Proud Dad Moment)

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by TobyZ28, Sep 14, 2021.

1. TobyZ28

TobyZ28 Tele-Meister

Just wanting to share a super awesome Dad moment. My Daughter really has been wanting to learn an instrument for some time now and we've finally decided to get a 2/3rd size guitar + lessons to start with. She is SUPER excited and up for the challenge of learning an instrument.

Best part is she already knew what she wanted:
    upload_2021-9-14_14-9-19.png
    I only started learning a few years and fully expect her to blow past me in a couple years if she sticks to it!

Curious anyone else has any "Kids Learning Guitar" tips/experiences/stories to share :D

2. telekaster1999

telekaster1999 Tele-Afflicted

Way to do Dad! Idk about any tips, but I taught my stepson 3 chords years ago and a few months later I was asking him for tips. Kids learn fast, he got really good very quick.

Maguchi and TobyZ28 like this.
  3. _MementoMori_

_MementoMori_ Friend of Leo's

Well, she needs to learn some Megadeth riffs as soon as possible if that's her first guitar.

TobyZ28 and Mark617 like this.
  4. Mark617

Mark617 Tele-Meister

Kinda makes my first bought Hondo seem silly
    Great choice !

TobyZ28 likes this.
  5. Danb541

Danb541 Friend of Leo's

Love the guitar choice but not the most comfortable shape to learn on sitting down.

6. Fretting out

Fretting out Poster Extraordinaire

Put the “crotch” on your thigh and rock on!

7. geetaruke

geetaruke TDPRI Member

Ya, but then you have a longer reach to the headstock. Not ideal for cowboy chording beginners.

But, if the look of the guitar is super inspiring to her, it trumps the slight comfort issue, I think.

8. _MementoMori_

_MementoMori_ Friend of Leo's

TobyZ28 and Danb541 like this.
  9. ChicknPickn

ChicknPickn Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Holy smokes. Wanna be my dad?

Danb541 likes this.
  10. Danb541

Danb541 Friend of Leo's