Damaged neck finish

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Mr Gunny, Apr 9, 2020.

1. Mr Gunny

Mr Gunny Tele-Meister

Just picked up an 80’s MIK Squier tele because I need a project. The neck finish is completely missing over several frets, I’m guessing I will have to refinish the entire neck and the frets are in terrible condition also. I’m a novice overall, I’ve done simple builds but never done any refinishing or fretwork etc. How would you go about repairing this neck?
    38F807CF-11EC-486E-92DE-A42CE3850665.jpeg A4169E58-E6DD-4750-9676-FB03FAFAF613.jpeg

2. Blue Ass Fly

Blue Ass Fly TDPRI Member

Stripping the frets , finish and then refinish,fretting and setting up (unless your confident yourself) would far out weigh the cost of replacing the neck
    Then you can spend more on some killer pickups

3. schmee

schmee Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Refret it, sand before installing the new frets. ...and finish with poly. You can do that poly over the new frets if you want. I'd just do it before if you don't poly too thick.

If you are trying to retain those frets then just scrape off the flaky poly finish in that area with a sharp razor blade or etc. Sand lightly and use some Poly to finish the repair

4. ale.istotle

ale.istotle Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

First thing is to assess the neck. Is it in good enough condition to put the effort into a restoration/repair? Is it straight? No twisting? Does the truss rod work? Can you set the relief?

Do you want it to look 'clean' and perfect or do you want it to play well and keep some damage showing? A close-up of the missing wood from the side would be helpful. It's going to be hard to patch in fresh maple without it being obvious.

I think you are going to need to pull all the frets and at least sand the finish off the fretboard, patch in wood where the damage is, re-cut the fret slots, refinish and do a fret job.