D'addario v Ernie Ball 10-46

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by twangytonezz, Jun 30, 2011.

1. twangytonezz

twangytonezz Tele-Meister

Was wondering if anyone had any advice between the two? I normally buy in bulk and I've done D'addario all my life but wanting to switch it up and try out other string sets (so long as they are 10-46).

What do you guys think of Ernie Ball? Pros/cons compared to D'addario?

Or any other brands I should know about?

Playing blues on my strat and venturing into country on my tele if that impacts anything.

2. mellecaster

mellecaster Former Member

One of my Favorite and most consistent in the Shop are GHS Boomers.

3. BucksStudent

BucksStudent Banned

Ernie Ball... Just look at one of their packs and you'll find a guitarist you like who uses them. I hated them when I was a beginner and still hate them now; too slick feeling to me, and they don't last as long.

For a long time, I used GHS Boomers like Mellecaster above, and they were good.

Then I discovered Elixer Polywebs. Best ten bucks I have ever spent.

4. telex76

telex76 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I've always used EB, never saw a reason to change until I started buying bulk single strings to make my own gauge sets for less. I haven't been able to tell any difference in feel or sound. Probably not a bit of difference, tho some will claim otherwise.

5. BucksStudent

BucksStudent Banned

Sure there is. Even within Elixer, you have Poly and Nanowebs. Both sound different, but are coated and made by the same company. Elixer sounds bright to me, but didn't feel right. When I switched to GHS, I liked the mellower sound and feel better.

6. Bartholomew3

Bartholomew3 Friend of Leo's

I find D'addario too bright and twangy - don't play twang music, sometimes use Elixir - depends on which guitar.

7. BucksStudent

BucksStudent Banned

You play a Tele and don't Twang?:eek:

8. mrSlush50

mrSlush50 Tele-Meister