Cyanoacrylate and masking tape question

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Marn99, Jan 23, 2017.

1. Marn99

Marn99 Tele-Meister

Hey everyone,
    So I have as of late fallen in love with Crimson Guitar's CA glue and masking tape method of fixing templates and other things, but I do have some questions. First, what viscosity of super glue should I be using? Second, I am using a template for the pickguard, eventually I want to be capable of doing things more independent of templates but at the moment I am using a one as this is my first build, anyway, with the rapid oxidization of super glue do I have to worry about it damaging the plastic underneath?

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

adirondak5 likes this.
  3. Ripthorn

Ripthorn Tele-Afflicted

I tried using that tip for the first time in earnest on my current build. I have had a mixed bag with it. I use medium, and the tape does stick like the devil (in fact, I should get some lower tack so that it doesn't hold 'quite' so well in some situations). I have found that sometimes the glue doesn't really want to set and so it takes forever for the piece to be ready to go. I do, however, like that it leaves no residue (unless the glues squeezes out, which does happen) and it doesn't move around at all. With double sided duct tape, there is still a small amount of movement just by virtue of being thick and squishy. I also don't really like the added height or more frequent occurrence of residue with double sided duct tape. But I guess there is no silver bullet. The Frost King double sided window plastic tape, however, was not that far off...

lfc322 likes this.
  4. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Tele-Afflicted