CV50's Control Plate Electronics: Where's the Beef?

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by FenderGuy53, Mar 21, 2017.

  1. FenderGuy53

    FenderGuy53 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,258
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Marion, NC
    Guys, I know that both Classic 50's Tele's have sexy bodies, and nice on-board alnico pickups, but some take issue with the control plate electronics, i.e., cable jack, volume/tone pots and 3-way switch.

    So, my question is this: Are the control plate electronics really THAT bad that they need to be replaced, or are guys just finicky?

    No offense intended, guys. To each, his own. I really like the CV50's Tele's, but not so much if I have to start modding them right out of the gate!

    Thanks, guys.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
  2. Route67

    Route67 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Canada
    The electronics are fine on the Classic Vibe Teles, nothing to be concerned about. The input jack may not be top quality, but with careful use it shouldn't pose a problem. If I was a professional guitarist, that would be the only upgrade I'd make.
     
    Airdale and Chicago Matt like this.
  3. IronSchef

    IronSchef Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    897
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Location:
    Flew here on my Dragonfly
    I know several folks w/ CV50's - never heard anyone complain about the controls (I wonder if you were just hearing the typical "Squier-bashing")

    I DID replace all the controls in my BSB CV50s - but NOT because there was anything wrong w/ it ... Replaced ALL of the electronics for my "Keef" mod, but I did pass the stuff on to a buddy who is going to use it for a tele build.

    You can see here, nice full-sized pots - my guess is that if I left it stock, these controls would have lasted quite some time w/ no issues

    [​IMG]
     
    BorderRadio, FenderGuy53 and Route67 like this.
  4. FenderGuy53

    FenderGuy53 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,258
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Marion, NC
    Good to hear, IronSchef. The photo helps, too. Thanks.


    Thanks for the input.
     
    Route67 likes this.
  5. Rod Parsons

    Rod Parsons Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    3,161
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Winchester, Va.
    I have had zero problems with my 2010 white CV50.The pots are full sized Alpha's.
     
  6. bazmusicman

    bazmusicman Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Location:
    london England.
    I've had a Classic Vibe 50 for over two years with no problems.
     
  7. Strum und Twang

    Strum und Twang Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Amarillo, TX
    I had a shorting problem with the switch on my (used) 2010 CV 50. The shop where I purchased it had replacements, so they swapped the switch out for me free of charge. Twice...because the replacements had the same issue. I ordered a more substantial switch and solved the problem. My CV 50s Strat has had no problems, however. Mileages vary.
     
  8. scotheath

    scotheath TDPRI Member

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Location:
    canada
    whats the Keef mod ?
     
    IronSchef likes this.
  9. peterleroux

    peterleroux TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    South Africa
    The switch is a cheap,PCB based switch.i changed it when I did the fourway mod. The rest seemed ok to me.

    The control plate (and most of the hardware on the CV range) is nickel and on some guitars, tarnishes quickly.
     
  10. filtersweep

    filtersweep Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    I'm always amused at the 'I bought a CV Tele and the only mods are new tuners, new bridge plate, new saddles, new pots, new caps, new switch, new wiring, new pick guard, and custom wound pickups, but other than that it is totally stock. Does anyone know if a US neck fits?'


    (Not referring to anyone specific, here- just amazed at the mods I read about that place these almost in used MIA pricing. And I even went a bit overboard modifying a Cabronita- so I shouldn't talk!)

    I think they are quite fine stock.
     
  11. IronSchef

    IronSchef Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    897
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Location:
    Flew here on my Dragonfly
    It's what I did to my CV 50s tele -- My own take on "Micawber" ...

    IMG_0515.JPG
     
  12. YOSTINATOR

    YOSTINATOR Tele-Meister

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    I have 2 CV Teles. A BSB and a VB. I am keeping them stock and that says a lot because I am very picky about good components on a guitar
     
  13. 68Telebass

    68Telebass Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,222
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    I have four Squires. Three guitars and a bass. VM or CV. The electronics on these are fine- especially the VM Jazzmaster.
    I would only replace the pots when they begin to fail. Jack as well.
    If the motor's runnin'- don't look under the hood...
     
  14. Grux

    Grux Tele-Holic

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    710
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The jack and the jack cup in a cvc are complete junk. I put a switchcraft jack in and electrosocket jack cup and it's just fine now.
     
  15. 68Telebass

    68Telebass Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,222
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    Agreed-
    Probably the first part to fail- lots of stress- that recessed cup can be a hassle as well if it gets loose
    Took my thinline out of the gig bag and couldn't plug in! Fortunately ALL the nuts, lock washer and that cup were rattling around in the gig bag- I fished out the female end from the body and tightened it back in- Whew!
    Didn't swap them out yet- still going strong- but I do check the socket...
     
    Grux likes this.
  16. gnappi

    gnappi TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    South Florida
    My CV thinline has problems switching to the neck pup occasionally if I don't use it for a while I plan on replacing it at some point, but being retired I don't have time any more :)
     
  17. Airdale

    Airdale TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    I changed my BSB CV jack to an Electrosocket, everything else is stock. My MIM strat and Squier strat both have Electrosocket jacks as well, I don't like cable crackle.
     
  18. ebb soul

    ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    7,844
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Location:
    Smyrna georgia
    The stock stuff doesn't mod well, doesn't solder very good, and the controls are a bit stiffer than say cts.
    But they function just fine, really.
    I think all teles need a jack improvement.
     
    Grux likes this.
  19. comebackkid

    comebackkid Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    489
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Spijkenisse, Netherlands
    My cv tele from the first production year (2008) remains untouched to this day. Apart from some natural relic'ing that is...
     
  20. Grux

    Grux Tele-Holic

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    710
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Do American made teles still have that flimsy jack cup?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.