CV 50s Tele Relic

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by AntigonesAncestor, Jun 30, 2020.

1. AntigonesAncestor

AntigonesAncestor TDPRI Member

Hey all,

Picked up a Classic Vibe 50s Tele (my first tele ever!) in butterscotch/blackguard and I've already ordered a new relic bridge and control plate with the components to wire a new circuit (I'm going to do a flipped configuration + broadcaster-style blend circuit with a StewMac treble bleed capacitor, I'll post pics when I actually get the components in and do the job). I've already swapped the tuners for a more worn-in set and I'll be having a tusq nut installed as with all of my guitars.

All that to ask: in your experiences, would you all think it'd look awkward to have relic hardware without any relic on the body/neck? I love the aesthetic of relic gear but I've never tried doing it before and I don't want to sacrifice my tele on the altar of good intentions. Any guidance or thoughts would be appreciated but please don't flame on the concept of relicing in general; if I had the ability to get an authentic worn in tele I wouldn't be buying a Classic Vibe.

2. bender66

bender66 Poster Extraordinaire

If the hardware was just lightly reliced I think it would be fine imo, but a heavy relic would look odd on that CV that's never gonna follow suit.

Besides, who cares. It's yours to do what you want & the hardware will age anyway.

Fretting out likes this.
  3. Craig_D

Craig_D TDPRI Member

4. AntigonesAncestor

That looks super cool! Happy 40th, shame it had to fall under quarantine. Good on you for making the best of it though, I'm sure the circumstances afforded bit more time with your new gear if nothing else.

Craig_D likes this.
  5. teletail

teletail Tele-Holic

If you're going to relic the tele, have someone that knows what they are doing perform the relic. There are so many horrible "relic" jobs out there because everyone thinks it's easy.