1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Country scales

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Krunoslav, Jan 22, 2021.

1. Krunoslav

Krunoslav TDPRI Member

Howdy
    Newbie here. Excuse my English, I am from Europe. :)
    So, being a rock player, I am fairly new to country playing. So instead of searching and reading endless articles and looking at boring videos, I thought, best to ask here. What are typical country scales, you can endlessly solo on?
    You know, like a minor pentatonic in rock.

RowdyHoo likes this.
  2. TokyoPortrait

TokyoPortrait Friend of Leo's

Walden, El Marin, Blister and 3 others like this.
  3. kbold

kbold Friend of Leo's

Major and minor scale, and major and minor pentatonic will cover a lot of ground.

RowdyHoo and Dr Improbable like this.
  4. johnny k

johnny k Poster Extraordinaire

b---------------------------------------4-5-
    g-------------------------------4-5-6-------
    d------------------1-2-4-5-6----------------
    a-----------2-3-4----------------------------
    e-0-2-3-4-----------------------------------

This is what i basically use on a E chord.

RowdyHoo, Jowes_84, Rocky058 and 2 others like this.
  5. Pineears

Pineears Tele-Afflicted

Classic or Modern Country?

BB and RowdyHoo like this.
  6. poboy

poboy Tele-Meister

To get started, try playing the major pentatonic scale in the key of the chord. You will have to follow the changes and move the the scale with each chord (i.e. you cannot use the same scale pattern over the whole song like you do with the minor pent in the blues).

7. DougM

DougM Poster Extraordinaire

That's not true! It depends on the progression. A progression of the I, IV, and V chords will sound just fine with the major pentatonic over all three chords, as will many other progressions.