Consistent Truss Rod Relief For Different Tunings?

thoumardguitar4

NEW MEMBER!
I'm a broke college student, so I'm posting this to a large audience that has more guitars and experience than I do. I have a 2018 Squier CV Tele as my only electric guitar. Besides standard tuning, at it's lowest, I will go a whole step down for some tunings, but will also play slide in Open G, D and up to E, all with 10-46 strings. I like my truss rod relief at .010", measured by a capo at the first fret and fretting the last fret, measuring the distance from the top of the 8th fret to the bottom of the low E string. When I tune down a whole step down, my relief goes to about .008", when I tune up to open E, the relief goes to about .012". It was driving me bonkers how tunings with higher string tension, my action got higher, making it even harder to play, and the lower tension and easier to play tunings, my action got lower and would rattle frets. So I tried this with my Seagull Maritime acoustic (my only acoustic guitar), and that truss rod stayed solid at .010" for all tunings with 12-53 strings. So my question, is this a common trait with cheaper made electrics? Is it due to just the truss rod? Is about neck size? Is it just overall build quality? Do your electrics truss rod stay locked in with these different tunings? In a perfect world, it would be nice for the Squier to have the truss stay as consistent as the Seagull. Thank you!

tomasz

Tele-Afflicted
I think the only way to expect a guitar neck to move less, would be a chunkier quartersawn neck. Those usually stay pretty stable - still some movement will happen I would not expect a squier neck to be that stable.

blue metalflake

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member
I’m surprised that dropping a whole step gives you 2 thou difference. I always found Tele necks to be quite stable.

Toto'sDad

Tele Axpert
Ad Free Member
Man, my Tele gets a neck ache when I tune it.

Doctor, why are you tuning it, it wasn't tuned when you got it?