1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Considering this Blackguard

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by wibo, Sep 27, 2015.

1. wibo

wibo TDPRI Member

I've been keeping my eye open for an original Blackguard for a while. I studied Nachos book quite a bit. I played a few, but only for a little while. So I'm no expert. A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. At least, that's what the Tower of Power says. :lol:

Yesterday I was at a guitar show and a dealer with whom I have dealt before has a '53 Blackguard for sale. He says it's all original, except for a route for a third pickup under the scratchplate. Serial is 20xx.

I am considering to pursue this one. Ofcourse I have to visit him, we have to take it apart, probably visit an expert (anyone know one in The Netherlands or Belgium?), but some first thoughts and opinions are very welcome.

Some blurry, badly lit iphone photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. sonicdom

sonicdom Tele-Meister

looks great! pm'ed you.

3. petebrown

petebrown Tele-Meister

Looks like some of the parts might be changed out, could be a good deal- Hard to tell from the blurry pics-

4. blue metalflake

blue metalflake Doctor of Teleocity

There's a few too many star head screws which should be slotted, and I hate to see a Tele strung up wrong. I'd like to see that wear pattern on the back of the body in reality, but this surely worth a look.

5. Robert H.

Robert H. Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

Looks pretty good. Phillips screws were fairly standard for a '53. Has to be a refret.
    I'd want to see the routing done and play that guitar before making a decision to buy...

6. Major Gruber

Major Gruber Tele-Afflicted