Considerations when building a Telecaster

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by AJ Ray, Sep 24, 2019.

1. AJ Ray

AJ Ray Tele-Meister

I have zero experience but considering a DIY build in the future. Can anyone offer recommendations about where in the UK would be a good place to buy parts? I would like to build something of good quality regardless whether it takes time. I think I would use Nitrocellulose. I'm thinking this could take me years and be a very gradual process indeed.

ben smith likes this.
  2. WingedWords

WingedWords Tele-Holic

I assemble rather than make from scratch these days so I've got no timber suppliers, though 20+ years ago I used to use David Dyke in Sussex and Timberline in Kent. Bit of a step from you.

http://www.luthierssupplies.co.uk
    David Dyke
    http://www.exotichardwoods.co.uk
    Timberline when I knew them.

Some UK sources I've used for pre made bodies and necks

https://www.guitarbuild.co.uk
    Had a very nice Tele body from them.

https://rexterguitars.co.uk
    New project currently with him and so far a good supplier to deal with.

https://www.guitarandbassbuild.co.uk
    I plan to try them - recommended by a chum whose opinions I trust.

For hardware I use Axecaster or Axerus - good experiences with them.

For pickups and other electrical bits I use James Home of Tone in the West Midlands (for McNelly p/us and wiring harnesses) or Bare Knuckle pickups from Cornwall.

I'm happy to spend money with all these people.

Good luck with the project. Pics as you go!

Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
    NEED4TWEED likes this.
  3. netgear69

netgear69 Tele-Afflicted

The 1st thing you need to take into consideration is what tools you are going to need if building one from scratch the list is big
    Even building one from finished parts there will be no guarantees that you won't have to do some fret leveling nut slotting etc
    good luck with it

trancedental and WingedWords like this.
  4. Mr_Q

Mr_Q Tele-Meister