1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Computer Help Needed Please

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by colchar, Jan 24, 2021.

1. colchar

colchar Friend of Leo's

I recently installed GuitarPro (legit copy) on my desktop and it worked perfectly. When I installed it on my laptop I couldn't get it to work. Whenever I try to open it I get pop-ups saying that some .dll files are missing. Apparently this is a fairly common problem. I checked the web for solutions (reinstall Visual C++, run various functions under the Administrator command prompt, etc.), but none of them have worked. I even downloaded the .dll files and that didn't do anything (no guarantee I did the right thing with them once downloaded though, as I am far from a technical expert).

I am currently running a system restore to see if that resolves it, but if it doesn't I have no idea what to do next. The only thing I can think of is to reinstall Windows, but that will be a pain in the butt, if I can even find my Windows disc.

So I was wondering if anyone here might be able to offer any advice for how to resolve this?

2. edvard

edvard Tele-Afflicted

Maybe you've already did this, but first things first:

Open a command prompt (I'll assume you know how to do that). In that window, type "sfc /scannow". That should tell you if there are any .dll files that are corrupted, or missing, BUT it only knows what is supposed to be there by what has been installed, so it may be you aren't up-to-date with the latest versions of .NET or the C++ or VB runtime libraries (which, honestly, should have been checked and installed by the GuitarPro installer, but I digress...).

Do you have a list of the .dll files that GuitarPro says it requires? We can help figure it out from there.

telleutelleme, colchar and Boreas like this.
  3. medownsouth