Compressor question

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by onlybrowning, Feb 4, 2011.

1. onlybrowning

onlybrowning Tele-Meister

I just got my first compressor, a MXR dyna comp. I have never used one before, so I'm not atte exactly what is should be doing. I feel like I can't play with any dynamic when using it. Is this what it its supposed to do? Also I have it right after my wah pedal, second in line on my chain.

2. RomanS

RomanS Poster Extraordinaire

Well, what effect did you get it for?

For me, compressors for electric guitar have two main uses:
    -) 12-string guitar just doesn't sound right without a compressor, it is a must for that Byrds-Rickenbacker-jangle type sound.
    -) Modern country chicken picking tones - a compressor helps getting those snappy, popping tones.

For everything else, a compressor is not essential; some people use it to get slightly more sustain for solos, esp. with clean tones, and some people (me included) occasionally use it as a booster with the actual compression set very low (this way you get a slightly more "in your face" boost than with an actual booster); the key with these uses is to go really subtle on the compression, so that the effect is barely noticeable, it's more of a "feel" thing - you notice it working when playing, but it shouldn't jump right at you exclaiming "compression at work"; less is more really applies most of the time with that effect!

3. Stratfink01

Stratfink01 TDPRI Member

When I first got my compressor it took some time to get used to it. But now I never turn it off and I think it's great even for dynamic blues playing. I think they can do wonders for fattening up tone. You just have to adjust how you play in different ways than you may have previously.

4. ZenDog

ZenDog Banned

The trick to a compressor is to NOT turn the sustain\sensitivity all the way up. Depending on the compressor, I never go further than 12:00. Often not higher than 1\4 to 1\3.