Compression to control even volume

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by waynereed, Jul 22, 2014.

1. waynereed

waynereed TDPRI Member

I've just recently started working on some pedal steel
    techniques on a standard tuned 6 string.

What I find I'm missing is having all strings darned near
    the same volume.

My guitars are tuned up and adjusted correctly. Pick ups,
    etc. proper height. And for most playing, in general,
    sound fine.

So I started working on my 1st countryesque, kinda tune.
    I figured Sleepwalk would be a great tune to do.

From what I've read, steel players use compressors to
    get that tight, well, compressed sound. But the comp pedals
    I have seem more like OD/Dist pedals.

I'm not a novice player, but going from Blues (with an edge)
    to clean pedal steel sounds isn't happening by accident! LOL

Any advice as to how to use a compressor pedal to do what I'm looking
    for? (Other than the obvious, like "Don't turn your gain so high, dude!") LOL

Any suggestions as to what comp pedal works really well to control volume of each string?

Oh, while I have your attention . . . funny thang . . . kinda . . .

One of my guitars (USA 50th Anniversary Deluxe Strat) . . . seems like
    when I get past the 15th fret, on the high strings, the volume really
    drops off. Any ideas?

2. Sideways Jaye

Sideways Jaye Tele-Meister

The type of compressor will make a difference. A Boss CS-2 or an MXR Dynacomp is not a very "clean" compressor and will add dirt to your sound. Try a Barber Tone Press, Xotic SP or other compressor that blends in the uncompressed sound ("parallel compression).

3. waynereed

waynereed TDPRI Member

Thanks, Jaye! You listed the 2 comp pedals I have! LOL

I'll pick up a parallel comp!!!!

4. codamedia

codamedia Poster Extraordinaire

Well - to each his own I guess :)