Component selection advice, pickups, covers & bridge

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by mxaniac, Jan 11, 2017.

1. mxaniac

mxaniac TDPRI Member

I've never owned a tele before so I'm putting an 80's Japanese neck (all black with a rosewood fret board) on a new ash body with a flamed maple top. I'd like some advice on bridge type, pickups, and whether or not to cover the neck pup. I'm planning on hard mounting the neck pup and mounting the bridge pup in a metal bridge of some unknown material of unknown thickness because if I don't then it won't be a tele now will it. No Humbuckers, I have other instruments for that sound.

Some things to consider:
    1) I'm a crappy beginner. Been one for a very long time :)
    2) I hate country, I hate twang. It irritates me for some reason.
    3) I mostly like light distortion through a small tube amp.
    4) I have a couple of strats, I don't need another.
    5) I'm certainly under a budget.

Most people at this point are probably thinking why in the heck would this guy need a tele if he doesn't like twang and what the heck is wrong with country music. Well Richards, Petty, Page, and a lot of other guys got some great sounds with a tele and it twern't no twang. As for country it's not like I made a conscientious decision to not like it, but I sure as heck don't.

[​IMG]

Thanks in advance.

hellopike likes this.
  2. silvertonebetty

silvertonebetty Tele-Meister

Find a broadcaster bridge pickup. They are a lower out put and more warmer. Sd make a copy of it can't recall the model and a Gibson humbucker in the neck. I personally like a three saddle bridge . But an 6 saddle is better for intonation. [​IMG]like this

awasson likes this.
  3. mxaniac

mxaniac TDPRI Member

I have an old Gibson mini-humbucker from 1974+ that might be interesting in the neck position.