Complete noob question regarding safety

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Doublechinmask, May 14, 2021.

  1. Doublechinmask

    Doublechinmask TDPRI Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Hey everyone.This morning i just wanted to check the tubes on my blackstar amp and once I unscrewed screws from cover the whole chassis fell out.I am too scared to return it back and screw it.What to do.

    https://ibb.co/4Sr5NFS

    Picture
     
  2. wangdaning

    wangdaning Tele-Meister

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Location:
    Wuxi
    Screw it back in? I mean, as long as you hold it by the chassis and avoid touching the circuit you should be fine. Make sure it is unplugged and check your tubes before you do it.
     
  3. Peegoo

    Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,462
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    Challenging Definitions of Sin
    Remove the tubes before you reassemble it--otherwise you risk breaking them or damaging their pins or the tube sockets.

    The amp is designed to remove/replace the tubes without taking it apart. Use a small mirror to look up under/behind the chassis to help you get the tube's pins aligned with the sockets.

    Be gentle with the tubes; rock them very [very] slightly when removing and replacing them.
     
  4. Doublechinmask

    Doublechinmask TDPRI Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I did and now it makes no sound . I didnt touch anything.I am such an idiot holy cow.:(
     
  5. Doublechinmask

    Doublechinmask TDPRI Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I didnt change tubes at all.I just opened it up and returned it back.
     
  6. Doublechinmask

    Doublechinmask TDPRI Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    It worked fine before...
     
  7. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,939
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    Make sure the speaker is still connected, and also the power cable can move some in the socket and get disconnected.
     
    Lowerleftcoast likes this.
  8. john_cribbin

    john_cribbin Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Location:
    London
    It looks like the black lead to the speaker has come off.
     
  9. johnnylaw

    johnnylaw Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    1,796
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    Check the main fuse if your amp has one. I had this issue once on an amp that to a digger. It was the last thing I checked, of course.
     
  10. Doublechinmask

    Doublechinmask TDPRI Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Thank you guys for suggestion.I ll play it safe and let my friend who is amp tech to take a look.I am really scared of getting shocked.I know nothing about electricity
     
  11. john_cribbin

    john_cribbin Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Location:
    London
    This looks like your problem:

    upload_2021-5-14_12-18-41.png

    The black lead need to go back on the terminal on the speaker below the red one.
     
    Deathray likes this.
  12. OldPup

    OldPup Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Go easy on yourself. I would have been surprised as well if the chassis fell out of an amp I was taking the back panel off of. Put the amp on its side when you slide the chassis back in. Makes it way easier.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.