1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Complete newb at recording

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by golfnut, Feb 26, 2021.

1. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

I've been in the studio but all I had to do was play and listen to the engineer and producer tell me what to do.
    Now I'd like to start building a small recording studio at home. At home I've used cool edit pro in the past with a simple USB recording mic.
    My objection is to supply electric guitar tracks to songs that are sent to me by recording with a mic on my amp. And do a little bit of record with my vocals and acoustic.
    This weekend I'll be going to pickup the following to get started.

1. Solid state logic SSL2+
    2.Audio Technica ATH-M50X headphones
    3. e609 to mic my amp. Eventually may also pickup an SM57
    4. Buy Reaper

In the near future I'll pick up the following

1. Either a Rode NT1 or AT4040 for vocals and acoustic
    2. set of studio monitors

So I am starting from scratch on this learning curve. Any recommendations with good beginner primers considering the gear list I've provided?

AlbertaGriff likes this.
  2. Masmus

Masmus Tele-Meister

The first thing I tel anyone interested in digital recording is use an external disc drive to record the audio files onto. Think about the your file naming convention so you can easily retrieve what was recorded earlier (don't be afraid to change this at a later date if you have problems later on). Most people are more concerned with recording more than the nuts and bolts but those are important. Any DAW you're comfortable with will work.