college debt

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by ndcaster, Mar 13, 2019.

1. ndcaster

ndcaster Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

this is now a major problem that affects everything, including guitar purchases

what's the solution?

2. Middleman

Middleman Friend of Leo's

I know this may upset the younger more sensitive nature of many viewers but here's what I did to reduce my college debt. I got a job and paid it off.

Georox, Reverb, Tonetele and 37 others like this.
  3. ndcaster

average student loan debt is what, 38k?

scelestus likes this.
  4. Steve 78

Steve 78 Tele-Afflicted

I don't know that there is a solution, but general life advice:
    - Don't take out a loan you can't pay off.
    - Consider the return on any investment.

5. Octorfunk

Octorfunk Tele-Meister

Exactly. And I'm speaking from experience. I graduated in 2006 and still have about 4-5yrs left on my student loans...

6. raito

raito Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

When I went, you simply weren't allowed to borrow insane amounts of money. At least, not and have the government guarantee it. And the loans you could get weren't enough to cover school anyway.

At some point, those limits were lifted. And probably about that time, tuition started going up faster than previously. And the government stopped putting as much into the schools, at least the public ones.

7. Gmountain

Gmountain Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

I also worked 30-40 or sometimes more hours per week in college.

8. chulaivet1966

chulaivet1966 Tele-Afflicted

In all my honesty....

The college system is an embarrassment on a few levels and I'm glad I'm old and don't have to be in the midst of the current whining millennial environment.

College debt is incumbent for many who want to get degrees that are actually worth something and applicable in the real world..
    Unless you're independently wealthy, college debt should be spent on STEM (trades & healthcare) degrees.