CNC Build - Shapeoko 3 kit - "Make Me A Guitar"

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by jvin248, Jul 9, 2015.

1. jvin248

jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

[​IMG]

I am documenting my Shapeoko-3 kit build.
    Unfortunately I did not receive it in time for my 2015 Challenge Build: Traveling Telecaster, so now this machine may prove to only be a distraction.

Background: I have been monitoring the small shop CNC market for several years and have often considered either starting with kits or building from scratch. The hurdle was usually the motor controller and software chain to design and translate to the machine. Often too many variables seemed more risky than I wanted to undertake.
    One of the usual CNC kit players had a system selling for the price of a MIM Tele earlier this year and I almost bought it. I saw where people were doubling up the cross-bars of this other model so they could improve rigidity for larger tables and generally lots of modding going on, a very active industry right now for many brands and builds. Some fantastic build threads on TDPRI CNCs too!
    Then I saw where Carbide 3D had put up design specifications and pre-orders for the Shapeoko-3 model they just finished designing. It was more money than the other model I was interested in, more the street price of a MIA Tele, but I immediately liked the thicker box beams, the expansion kits planned to cut up to 4x8 sheets with these beams, and the heavier duty NEMA 23 motors to push around routers more substantial than those used for fret slotting - perhaps large routers that make quick work of a carve-top body or a guitar neck.