closed back vs open back vs front ports

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by AndyPanda, Dec 5, 2019.

1. AndyPanda

AndyPanda Tele-Meister

I have quite a few interesting and vintage 12" speakers that need a home (a cabinet to live in). I recently picked up a used 2x12 slant cabinet for cheap money on CL. It is closed back but has two round ports on the front - no length to the port (no tubing - just holes in the baffle board). Right now I have two EVM12L in there. I have various old Jenson, Rolla, Celestion 12" I've salvaged over the years.

I think it sounds pretty good but I'm new to the whole guitar thing (long time musician - just new to guitar) so I don't really play well enough, yet, to know what a good sounding guitar cabinet sounds like.

I occasionally see inexpensive closed back (no ports) 2x12 cabs on CL or an Open back (fender type) 2x12 cab on CL and I'm sort of tempted to buy one of each just so I can see what the difference is (and to give a home to some of these raw speakers I have lying about).

Anyway ... hoping some of you might be able to tell me what the pros/cons are between the different types of cabinet. Also curious if you guys would leave these ports alone or experiment with making port covers to plug them and compare?
    Ports.jpg

2. tubelectron

tubelectron Tele-Holic

Supposing the same speaker in a same volume enclosure :

Port cabinets will give you more bass (correctly tuned = i.e. EVM12L in Thiele Cab).

Closed cabinet will give you tighter bass.

Open cabinet will give you a widespreaded sound (I mean : largely open back, OK ?).

With port and closed cabinets, you may front adverse noise problems (typically unwanted air leaks) that won't exist with open back cab.

But port and closed cabinets (if well built) allow a higher power handling to the speaker (due to the damping they provide) than the open cab.

A largely open cab usually sounds less "boxy" than a closed or port cab.