1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Clean playing - I just can't seem to crack that egg

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by johmica, Jan 29, 2021.

1. johmica

johmica Tele-Holic

Just looking for a little bit of experienced guidance on how to clean up my playing. A super-quick recent musico-biographical sketch:

I've been playing for north of 30 years now ("on and off" would be an understatement). I've always just been a hobbyist - I've never taken it too seriously. It's just been a way for me to relax and enjoy myself. I've gigged a few times, but probably fewer than six.

Historically, I've played blues rock and Americana covers.

The pandemic led me to picking the guitar back up, after a very long break (about four years without playing). I subscribed to TrueFire in April of last year, and I've been working my way through the Blues Learning Path and the Jazz Learning Path. With both paths, I've completed the first four sections, which focus on rhythm playing, and I'm now moving into developing my lead chops.

I've noticed both in my rhythm playing and with my lead playing that I'm a very sloppy player. I miss notes when trying to grab chords, and when playing the lead lines presented in the lessons, my performances are inconsistent. I often miss parts, miss strings with my picking hand, slur notes instead of clearly articulating them in the way they are presented, etc.