1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

CL 1952 Telecaster listing-whatcha think?

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by backalleyblues, Sep 24, 2014.

1. backalleyblues

backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

2. dsutton24

dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Ooof... That's bad. That wire channel! :lol:

Notice that the only things not photographed are the areas that usually have a date on them.

3. sonny wolf

sonny wolf Friend of Leo's

The decal is wrong.

4. Ron Garson

Ron Garson Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

It may be "In the style of" a '52, but a '52 it is not! I'm no expert, but there's a lot of things that even I can spot.
    Decal has been mentioned. That's wrong, and badly done. Wiring is a mix of cloth covered, plastic covered, modern cap, etc. Serial number on the bridge is, according to the Fender dater, '54, and the body routs are certainly not from the fifties. Wiring channel has been mentioned, and back then, the corners of the neck pocket were not rounded out. It might not even be a Fender body!

5. hemingway

hemingway Poster Extraordinaire

I don't usually chance my limited knowledge in these threads, but here goes.

Looks like a 3-piece pine body to me, not the 2-piece ash it should probably be.

There are also too many Phillips screws in there instead of flatheads.

It also looks in way too good condition.

Did they have serial numbers on the headstock back then? Hmm.

Finally, I'm not seeing any initials on any of the parts you usually see them on.

I'm afraid that's as far as my "expertise" goes.

6. rogb

rogb Tele-Afflicted

The Gruhn letter seems to think it is genuine:confused::confused:

7. hemingway

hemingway Poster Extraordinaire

Probably easier to forge a letter than a guitar.