Chicken Head Knobs

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Phrygian77, Mar 25, 2020.

1. Phrygian77

Phrygian77 Tele-Afflicted

Okay guys, I've built a lot of blackface amps, and I know exactly who's parts I like. I'm a complete noob though when it comes to tweed amps. I've got a Mojotone 5E3 chassis that I'm going to build a TV front 5B3 Deluxe in. What chicken head knobs do I want?

2. King Fan

King Fan Friend of Leo's

Good question. I believe our smart friend @muchxs knows a lot about vintage-correct chickenheads. Bakelite? Dakaware? or ??? and were they black or maybe that swirly bakelite brown-black? I tried some NOS phenolic ?Bakelite knobs in the brown swirl a while back -- can't quite decide if they look old-timey or just odd. :)

DB270CDE-F839-4D78-88D0-44A282482E8B.jpeg

As far as shape and pointers, I tend to see two basic patterns. Sometimes the pointer line is even skinnier (see above). I've seen the kind on the left more often with brass collars, those on the right sometimes without a separate collar.

453B8F4D-E5AF-4775-B0D4-6E018862B603.jpeg

Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
  3. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

I have a TON of the real deal vintage ones, although I don't have a good way to ship small packages right now. If you want to wait I'd be happy to send you some.

4. telemnemonics

telemnemonics Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

2E885CBB-46D1-4698-AB3C-F8D625C665D6.jpeg 685FC6ED-1D93-4A59-B41B-9B209E314E6A.jpeg It is with the deepest regret that I must report the demise of my once majestic collection of vintage chicken head knobs.
    Kids today be warned, wine women and song will rob you of the truly meaningful things in life.
    All that’s left to me is this one specimen, not a particularly wonderful example but at least it’s the superior flat top variety.

5. King Fan

King Fan Friend of Leo's