Cherry tele build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by pypa, Jul 22, 2020.

1. pypa

pypa TDPRI Member

Hi All.

New member here.

This forum comes highly recommended by a friend. I am a guitar player for 30 years (read still a noodling beginner hack).

I’m trying my hand at building a tele from scratch. I am a comfortable woodworker but have a million questions about best practices.

I've been lurking for a bit.

I'm making mine from cherry.

IMG_3661.jpg

IMG_3664.jpg

Last edited: Jul 22, 2020
  2. pypa

pypa TDPRI Member

I routed the body already. I have seen most people route the neck pocket with a roundover. However, I'm theorizing that a squared pocket will be fine. It will simplify the tweaking of the neck, IMHO. Interested to hear thoughts on that IMG_3667.jpg IMG_3666.jpg

3. dougstrum

dougstrum Tele-Afflicted

Really love cherry!
    First guitar I built was a cherry thinline.
    It still gets a lot of use:D
    Bet it's going to sound and look great!

4. pypa

pypa TDPRI Member

I'd like to fit the neck next, but I'm waiting for my truss rod to arrive so I can route the channel.

I ordered this:

4mm Allen Nut HR Truss Rod 18".

I'm not sure the best way to route this channel. I have a router table. Has anyone routed this channel with standard bits? I'm trying to avoid having to buy one special.

I also marked out the tuning hole locations. I'm using these:

Hipshot Grip-lock 6 inline enclosed 21mm Post Locking Tuners - Chrome

I tried some test holes. The 3/8 fits, but with the tiniest bit of wiggle. I can go down to 25/64 but this would require reaming or wiggling. I have a tapered reamer from some chair building projects, but it's 6 deg, and I think it'd be too drastic. Advice?

IMG_3676.jpg

5. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Doctor of Teleocity

That's gonna look great!
    My only question is about weight.....isn't cherry wood on the heavy side?
    Be sure and post finished guitar, please. ;)

nicknklv and Danb541 like this.
  6. pypa