Center positive vs. Center negative for scratch builder?

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by drneilmb, Jun 30, 2020 at 11:36 PM.

1. drneilmb

drneilmb Tele-Meister

I'm just starting out building my own pedals. In fact, I'm just starting out with pedals at all. I own zero pedals. I built a boost pedal from scratch using a 9V battery and it's so fun that I decided that I want to package it up and build some more. I'm going to start with a power supply using a 12V 2A wall wart and some 7809 regulators.

But here's my problem: everything in my workshop and ham radio shack is center-positive on the DC 5.5x2.1mm jacks/plugs. I've got loads of power supplies and cables and radios and test equipment and audio gear, much of it homemade, that uses these same plugs with what I always thought of as the "standard" center-positive polarity. Now along comes this pedal power supply and my first boost pedal and I'm wondering which polarity to choose?

If I build my power supply as center positive, then I can use it with other stuff in the workshop, but if I ever get any commercial pedals, then I have to wire up some crossed cables and remember to never get them mixed up and use the wrong ones on the wrong pedals. If I build my power supply and pedals as center negative, then I can never use any of the other power supplies in the workshop, but I'll be fine if I get some commercial pedals down the line.

Has anyone else faced this issue before? Is there a simple solution that I'm overlooking? Besides lots of fluorescent yellow tape and a multimeter close at hand?

Which would you choose?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you might have.

-Neil

2. tubegeek

tubegeek Tele-Afflicted

I think the reason is so the switched DC jacks will easily supersede the battery power in a pedal and simultaneously you can switch the power on & off by using a 1/4" TS plug in a TRS jack.