1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Cap can with leakage - how much is okay?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by itsGiusto, Jan 19, 2021.

  1. itsGiusto

    itsGiusto Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I bought a 20-20-20-20 cap can last year to replace the old one on my 1972 princeton reverb. I was doing some maintenance on my amp today, and I removed the cap fully from the amp, so I decided to see if it's working correctly. All 4 lugs measure the correct capacitance. However, when I test the resistance from each lug to ground, 3 of the lugs have some leakage. I don't know if it's enough to replace it, however.

    One lug measures infinite resistance to ground. Another one measures ~50M, another measures ~30M, and another measures ~60M.

    What do you all think? Should I replace the cap?
     
  2. tubeswell

    tubeswell Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,434
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    If the High-Tension voltages at all the nodes are okay/ballpark, the cap will be fine. '30M', '50M', '60M' and 'infinite resistance' amount to pretty much the same thing in an e-cap. YMMV
     
    FenderLover and itsGiusto like this.
  3. galaxiex

    galaxiex Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    To really test for leakage you need to test at high voltage with something like this...

    100_2345.jpg

    Notice this can test at up to 450 Volts.

    If a HV cap is gonna leak, that's where it happens.
     
  4. dogmeat

    dogmeat Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Alaska
    ahhh yes... the 'ol Spenard lie detector
     
  5. itsGiusto

    itsGiusto Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Okay, put the can back in, and the voltages were great, very very close to spec. so I guess there's no worry. I had thought that leaky caps caused more problems than just voltage changes, but maybe that's only for coupling caps, not filter caps.
     
  6. FenderLover

    FenderLover Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,822
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I don't know what meter you were using to measure 30/50/60M ohms but measurement accuracy come into play with those high readings. I'm not surprised that it works well in-circuit.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.