Can't decide on my first build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by mishulan, Aug 19, 2020.

1. mishulan

mishulan NEW MEMBER!

Hi all,

First post here, finally! I'm reading these threads for about a year now and still I can't decide where to start. There are so many options here that feel lost and overwhelmed. As I'm a beginner in guitar playing I have used only one amp (non tube entry level) that I currently own and I like it so much that I prefer to practice without plugging the guitar in.

I'm looking for advice on what build would be best suited for me, so here it goes

Purpose of the amp:
    - bedroom practice at low/moderate volume (8x8 feet room)
    - I like bluesy / jazzy tones but I'm learning so I would like to have the option for clean tones so that I can hear and understand what I'm doing
    - no tremolo needed...not sure about the reverb (probably I could add it later or get a pedal if need be)
    - cabinet size max width/height: 45x40cm or 18x16 inch

Questions that I can't answer on my own:
    - Is 5 watt too loud? can I turn the volume down, or do I need to go with a 1 watt build?
    - I want the entire frequency range that the guitar puts out. that would be ~83hz on low E but a Jensen p10r speaker has a resonant frequency of 99hz- is this an impediment? should I go with a 12 inch speaker that has an fs lower that 83hz?

I'm considering either a 5f1/5f2a or one of Rob's micro builds champ/deluxe.
    I need to source parts from Europe so that will be 220v transformers and EL/ECC equivalent valves.

I would greatly appreciate any advice you can give me.
    Thank you for taking the time to read this!

2. James Knox

James Knox Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

I have built a 5F1, a Boothill Six Shooter (1 watt micro) and a Rob Robinette Deluxe Micro. I had fun building each of them and they each sound good. I think the 5F1 is best with an 8” or 10” speaker, and the Deluxe Micro with a “12.