Can you tell an older guitar by its feel?

Fretting out

Doctor of Teleocity
A new member was asking about buying a tele from the 70’s

And it got me thinking that if he’s never played a vintage guitar/fender before he should try before buying

I have limited experience but I can definitely feel a difference between an old guitar and new, not bad just different

And to me they feel way different than a guitar made in the last 10-15 years

Even my mij fenders (88/94) feel different than modern guitars, I’d say they feel more akin to the 70’s examples I’ve played

Is it age? Is it the era?

Do you get what I’m getting at? Half the time I don’t know what I’m getting at…

I know I know/ “get off the internet and play”

Last edited:

LowCaster

Tele-Afflicted
I get that feeling with the 1959 Melody Maker in my profile pic. It feels old, from the pots, checkered finish, weakish pickups, aged hardware, dry wood up to the silkscreened logo (except for the Grover tuners added along the way). And it feels right because everything looks and works as it should. Though honestly I think this is mostly subjective: what I know or believe is confirmed by what I see and feel and vice versa… I am pretty sure I could be fooled by a good replica/relic.

But again how can you really appreciate a good relic if you haven’t played a really old guitar.

jvin248

Doctor of Teleocity

Rolled fretboards and relic wear can achieve that feel, some finish or the grime worked into the finish.

Old antique furniture vs new, same way.

Old jeans vs new jeans.

Relic guitars are controversial for pictures but own a good one and it's about the feel. Same feel the vintage guitar buyers chase.

Spend detailed time figuring out the exact details that make you think fondly of the preferred object over the unliked object and you'll gain the insight to tweak any new object into perfection.

LowCaster

Tele-Afflicted