Can you relate to this?

hotraman

Tele-Afflicted
5C7340DD-311B-4F40-8658-A445F26A5007.jpeg

Last edited:

hotraman

Tele-Afflicted
It took me awhile to figure how to link. One of my fellow worship leaders created a meme with me in it.

Last edited:

Teladjacent

TDPRI Member
I’m curious to hear what others think of click tracks. Sometimes it sounds to me like the band is actually less together when getting cues and playing to the click. It’s less likely to completely fall apart, but almost guaranteeing the groove suffers.

I’m not an expert. Genuinely curious what others think.

Grenville

Tele-Meister
I've got no problem with a click. Consistent tempo, nice.

I do have a problem with the endgame of nonprofessionals (in my case, the older youth group kids) getting hold of backing track multitracks. In our place the youth band ended up using these tracks as the core music and their part was to jam along. Fine and good if that practice stayed on Friday nights. However as these fine people got older and started playing on Sundays, all of them could make a joyful noise but none of them knew the basic mechanics of playing in or playing as a band.

When the same kids end up on the sound team and mix pre-recorded instruments as loud or louder than live performed instruments, experienced musicians (ie me, and others) get tired of asking for the tracks to be turned down because I'm actually here and now playing that part. After 13 years on team I left.

One of my friends who stuck it out on e-guitar asked advice on a drive pedal that will help him cut through the mix. He owns vintage AC30, Les Paul, Tele, various Rat, Dumblesque, Tube Screamer drives, etc. He doesn't need a different drive, he needs to get the tracks turned off.

P.S. Steve, I'd roll my eyes at that meme if it were me, but it's very disrespectful.

studio

Poster Extraordinaire