Can you recommend locking tuners for Les Paul Junior.

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by TubeBlues, Sep 25, 2019.

1. TubeBlues

TubeBlues Tele-Meister

I just got a 2019 Les Paul Junior Tribute DC.

It's got Kluson style button tuners. I'd like to install locking tuners, but don't mess with the weight balance.
    It's perfect right now.

Any suggestion?

[​IMG]

2. Toast

Toast Tele-Holic

I'm not an expert on locking tuners. I have older Sperzel tuners on two of my guitars. The one thing I've learned about my locking tuners through experience is that I don't like that they can come apart into pieces. I'm with Dave's World Of Fun Stuff on that. Tuners where you can unscrew the knob all the way off till a little metal post falls out of them can be a PITA. If I were thinking about buying tuners, I would check how they work and decide whether I wanted that kind of design or not. I can't help you on finding the right balance of tuners for your guitar. Good luck.

howardlo likes this.
  3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

You can - there's Gotohs (which is what these are) that are a drop-in.

But why? I have/had three of these guitars and the Gotohs even when old don't slip.

Things that cause tuning to go hinky. None of these is cured by new tuners - waste of money.

1. If you have the straight wrap tail it's not compensated for intonation it's virtually impossible to get tuning right. If so, you need one of these, a 'lightning bolt' bridge or the adjustable Badass type.

aoalightningboltnickel2.jpg

51vB5mPfR7L._SX425_.jpg

2. Nutslots cut high - a failing of 2/3 of mine

3. Nutslots cut for .009-.042s and putting bigger strings on causing ping-ping-ping due to sticking in the slots.

2. and 3. are cured by a good setup along with lubing the slots.

Done correctly they tune up and hold tune perfectly with the stock plastic button tuners. Even the 2008 'reliccd' one.