Can you add pigment to transtint for a solid finish?

Dauminator63

TDPRI Member
I'm refinishing a project LP I bought dirt cheap from GFS, and I've decided to make it a solid black finish. I am new to the finishing game, and I have noticed I get good results with transtint and tru-oil. The issue is, I can't seem to find a a solid color, water based stain (that's not also a sealer + others for outdoor wood projects) for the life of me. The body is a multi-piece basswood body with a multi-piece basswood top, and a translucent would look awful. My incredibly smart self bought black pigment for waterbase lacquer thinking it would work as a solid stain. I don't have black transtint yet, and I'm wondering if adding the black pigment to the black transtint would work as a solid stain. Or if anyone has a recommendation for a solid water based dye it would be appreciated. Or, if I used enough transtint to water ratio, will it be dark enough to be solid?

Freeman Keller

Poster Extraordinaire
Dan Erlewine has a fairly long description of how Gibson has done their blacks (primarily head plates) over the years. They used stains in the early days but have mostly changed to simple black lacquer now. Black is a notoriously hard color to do well, I would simply shoot black lacquer until II was satisfied with the build and smoothness, then clear over that. If I wanted to highlight the grain I would use stain, if I wanted to hide the grain I would use paint.

Dauminator63

TDPRI Member
If I wanted to highlight the grain I would use stain, if I wanted to hide the grain I would use paint.

I don’t have a spray gun, the only air compressor I have is for my Jeep, I don’t have an area where I could apply a spray finish, and I don’t have the proper PPE for spraying paint either. That’s what was so attractive to me with transtint; I could just apply it in my garage and let it dry. Is there any wipe on substance I could add the black pigment to?

Freeman Keller

Poster Extraordinaire