can I use P3000 thru P10000 to buff my nitro?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by jms2009, Sep 21, 2019.

Tags:
  1. jms2009

jms2009 Tele-Meister

I already wet sanded the nitro (Cardinal brand from lmii) on my les paul that I'm building up thru P2000 grit, and found some sandpaper on amazon from P2000 thru P10000 ( www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07D29Z738/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=AWX2NT1OCXA0K&psc=1 ). Can I get a good glass type finish using the amazon sandpaper instead of using liquid buffing polish? Is liquid buffing polish better/easier? I'm new to this, but have read that using liquid buffing polish as another way to get the axe to shine, however since I'm comfortable wet sanding with naphtha I thought I'd *maybe* continue using it to get a glass finish instead of using the liquid polish. So far the wet sanding up thru P2000 has gone well.

2. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Meister

3. Drak

Drak Tele-Holic

I have no actual proof of this, but I read it somewhere...
    The Finesse-It (maybe any liquid polish), when used properly, actually will temporarily heat up the lacquer.
    When heated like this, the lacquer heats up, softens, and 'melts' (temporarily, of course).
    And all the sanding scratches (theoretically) melt and disappear.
    You could never get that by just sanding up to a bazillion grit.
    Again, I have no specific proof of that, but lacquer certainly does heat up and melt.

4. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Meister

This I didn't know, but I can attest to a lack of any indication of sanding in the finishes that I have used a buffing compound on. So...

Could very well be!

5. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Holic

Sure, you could continue to use finer and finer grit paper to polish your nitro finish, but I think that at some point all you are doing is spending time sanding and money buying finishing paper when the same basic results can be achieved with a buffing or polishing compound.