Can I Run My Silverface Vibrochamp Through This?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by 985plowboy, May 13, 2019.

  1. Hatfield92

    Hatfield92 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Location:
    Largo, Florida, USA
    I have a 70 Champ I played through an old childhood friend’s old 4x12 Fender cab. We were rehearsing for (and eventually played) our 20-year high school reunion. I was blown away by how good it sounded through one. Those little 8s really don’t do t justice.
     
  2. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    I need to go from spade clips to 1/4" to hook this up.
    Can I make a "jumper" speaker cable using a guitar cable?
     
  3. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,323
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    You can not use guitar/instrument cable in place of a speaker cable.

    The vibro champ should have an RCA jack unless it's been modified...so I'm not sure how spade clips will come into play. If you're thinking of just using the extra speaker terminals on the vibro champ's speaker, you won't want to do that either.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
    985plowboy and Flyboy like this.
  4. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    Thanks corliss1
    Duly noted
     
  5. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    It's alive!
    I got a RCA to 1/4" and with a bit of wiggling of the jack to clean off the oxidation it fired right up.
    Big beefy low end and growling distortion when the jr is on Volume 8-10.
    Louder, but not a whole lot louder, definitely way more full.
    I like it a lot.
    I'll pull the back and take pics
     
  6. Dan R

    Dan R Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    4,931
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Big speaker = big sound. That's the old saying anyway. Two 15"s probably have a full sound. Many pros used those big Fender cabs back in the day. Neil Young for one.
     
    985plowboy likes this.
  7. Whitebeard

    Whitebeard TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Port Richey, FL
    I have not read all the comments so mine may be redundant. Those speakers appear to have a chrome dome on them. Fender used JBL D130's in the Showman and Dual Showman back then. I never owned a Bassman with 15" but because it was designed to be a bass amp they may have used JBL D140's in it. If those speakers are either of those and are in good condition they are worth about $250.00 each. The D130's will sound better for guitar but even D140's will sound bigger than your VibroChamp.

    "The D130 was designed as a guitar driver. The cone is smooth, lighter than that of the D140, and it has a higher resonance frequency (Fs). It also has a higher sensitivity, and a slightly extended high frequency response.

    The D140 was designed as a bass driver. It has the concentric rings around the cone, which stiffen it, make it heavier, and supposedly help control breakup, so that the polar response (dispersion) is better in its upper range. It has a lower Fs, giving it a more extended low frequency response, and lower sensitivity overall, due mainly to the heavier cone.

    IIRC, the D130 has an aluminum voice coil, the D140 copper. The frames and magnet structures are exactly the same, so they can be reconed from one to the other"
     
  8. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    Whoooooo Lord!!!!!
    I put my OD-3 and my Carbon copy in front of it.
    I'm astonished at how good it sounds.
    Admittedly, not much clean headroom in any configuration, but dang the overdrive is incredible.
     
    SecretSquirrel likes this.
  9. Silverface

    Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    9,383
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Location:
    Lawndale CA
    Just to verify - you are using speaker cable or single wires of the same diameter - not shielded cable, right? Using shielded cable as speaker cable can seriously damage the amp. It was mentioned earlier not to use a guitar cable, but there are other shielded hookup cables that are not "guitar cables" yet just as wrong.

    Did you ever get the codes off the speakers so they can be identified?
     
    985plowboy likes this.
  10. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    I'll take a pic of what I'm using as a cable.
    Y'all can tell me if it's cool

    Haven't pulled the back off yet for pics.
    Trying to wrap up strawberry season and transition into spring vegetables is always busy for us.
    I will do it though.
    I'd love for y'all to lmk what I have.
     
  11. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    1558146451141-1070311647.jpg 1558146493413735361099.jpg
    This is what I'm using to go from my amp to the cab.
    It originally had two RCA Jack's.
    I cut off the one I didn't need to strip the wire back and look at it.
    Two strands inside the black outer housing, one with clear insulation.

    This ok to use fellas?
    It works, but I don't want to hurt anything.
     
  12. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    Corliss1
    I posted a pic of my jumper wire above.
    That look alright?
     
  13. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,323
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Hard to tell from that, but looks like yes. Do you have a straight-on picture of the cut end so we can see the cross section?
     
  14. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,538
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    No, that is the wrong cable, it's grounded. Plus that's a very cheap cable. And the gauge is too small, asking for trouble.

    The problem is that with shielded cables it could melt causing a short. Now given that it's only 5 watts, the chance of that happening soon is not very high if you don't crank it for a long time. Such a cheap cable is also bound to fail in other ways, possibly leading to an open and screwing up the output transformer.

    That kind of speaker cable cannot be bought commercially. You need to buy a regular speaker cable and get someone who knows what they're doing to solder an RCA jack on the other end. Lamp chord also works, but you need someone to solder the jacks.
     
    985plowboy likes this.
  15. lfender523

    lfender523 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    birmingham, alabama
    Hey, don't use that cable! Please listen to Radiocaster's advice. Get a speaker cable.
     
    Paul in Colorado and 985plowboy like this.
  16. Jay Jernigan

    Jay Jernigan Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Location:
    10-uh-C
    Took a Princeton Reverb and a ragged Twin Reverb (with good speakers) on the road in 1978; used the speakers with whichever amp was appropriate to the venue and almost always had what I needed. Small amp plus big speakers is almost always a good combination.
     
  17. hrstrat57

    hrstrat57 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Doubledee doit done!

    Woo hoo!
     
  18. Silverface

    Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    9,383
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Location:
    Lawndale CA
    The pictures are badly focused - there' no way to tell if it's shielded or whether there are two wires running next to each other into each connector (some ARE made that way!).

    And for a low-power amp like a Champ you could use very thin gage wire and not damage a thing.

    Sorry, but the pictures just are not clear enough to tell.
     
  19. spellcaster

    spellcaster Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Duncan, B.C.
    I'm going to be the voice of dissent on this subject. It'll work, but I didn't think it sounded worth a damn. Plugged my 66 Vibrochamp in my 68 Dual Showman cabinet with 2 -15" JBL D130F's and it sounded like a very loud nasty little practice amp.
     
  20. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,907
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    15582263034831682833497.jpg

    Alright folks.
    Went by GC after market.
    Bought this incredibly thick and expensive 5' speaker cable and a 1/4" to RCA adapter.
    Put it together and installed it. It works.

    Is this ok?
     

    Attached Files:

IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.