1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Buy New Fender Player Telecaster for Parts? Am I crazy?

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by pikers, Jan 25, 2021.

1. pikers

pikers TDPRI Member

Hi all,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to building guitars. My father is a fine furniture maker (sadly this skill is not hereditary) and wants to build a tele with me. For now, we're just going to focus on the body as he wants to try some pretty fancy things. If things go well, maybe we'll give a neck a try.

Anyway, I was pricing out getting a neck (Warmoth) and the rest of the hardward/electronics (stewmac) and it looks like I'm going to be spending around $400-$450 for the neck and hardware/electronics. My local guitar shop is willing to sell me a player Telecaster for $500. Would it be nuts to just buy a Player Tele and repurpose the parts I need for our build? I figure this may be better than buying the parts separately because if our project fails, at least I still have a good guitar :lol:

Thoughts? I'm hoping those of you with much more experience can share their thoughts.

Jakedog likes this.
  2. TX_Slinger

TX_Slinger Tele-Meister

More fun to spec out your parts separately, and you'll get better than what comes on that Fender. Hipshot tuners, a bridge thats somewhat distinctive, and certainly you'll find better pickups (Ahem...Tonerider) than what come in that Fender for a good price ;). You and your dad will really build something special.

Also, buying some previously loved hardware will save some money.

SonicMustang and pikers like this.
  3. Jakedog

Jakedog Telefied Ad Free Member

If it’s that close, I’d do it.