Building an 1899 SG guitar

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by RodeoTex, Aug 15, 2019.

1. RodeoTex

RodeoTex Poster Extraordinaire

Ok, well maybe not exactly 1899, but the materials are from a piano of that period.
    Wing &Son, New York. The most recent patent date I could find on it anywhere is 1899, and the company halted production in 1928, so it's in there somewhere.

I've never owned an SG, and not sure if I ever even played one, but the old piano is mahogany and mahogany veneer so this is finally the time...
    20190811_095835.jpg
    Sadly, I don't think any of the spruce will be usable for anything.

Attached Files:

2. RodeoTex

I've done a couple of Les Paul knockoffs in the past, but mostly I'm a novice when it comes to Gibsons.

I watched Ebay for SG templates forever hoping to find a set routed for P-90s. Never happened, so I finally contacted one seller and he said "sure, just order a regular and send a note reminding me that you want P90s".
    Well that was easy enough...
    20190815_101524.jpg

Ekko and bricksnbeatles like this.
  3. RodeoTex

Making working templates:
    I used the body template to route out the same thing from 3/4" plywood.
    The mdf template came with all the holes cut out to fill size, which may make it hard to accurately find the center later. The center transfer punches really help to find the perfect center of each hole (~$10 on Amazon, and worth it).
    20190815_104308.jpg
    This guitar type is going to require a lot of different templates. Much more complex than a Tele or Strat.
    I'm trying real hard to not get in a rush and plow straight thru. Rather develop all the accurate templates for each step.
    This 1/4" template is just to trace out the bevel on the front and back if the body. As far as I can tell, both sides of an SG look to be beveled the same.
    20190815_105340.jpg

4. RodeoTex

20190815_110624.jpg